Marin County Motorcycle Accident Lawyer

It is 28 times more likely for a motorcyclist to lose their life than a person in a vehicle, according to 2016 fatal crash data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. If an accident isn’t fatal, riders are at an exponentially higher risk of suffering catastrophic injuries. When the negligent actions of another person has caused your involvement and injury in a motorcycle accident, you may have the ability to file a personal injury claim. Contact the Marin County motorcycle accident lawyers at Walkup, Melodia, Kelly & Schoenberger to speak with a highly qualified attorney.

  • Our accident attorneys along with our firm, are amongst the most highly recognized in Northern California, having successfully obtained compensation in 98 percent of our cases for the past decade.
  • We regularly secure multimillion-dollar settlements or verdicts in our cases, including on behalf of motorcycle accident victims:
      • $5.65M Settlement: Motorcycle Collision Causing Paraplegia
      • $4.5M Settlement: Motorcycle Collision Causing Loss of Leg
  • We guarantee you will be treated fairly by the insurance company, as our firm can handle all communication with the insurer and negotiate on your behalf, or take your case to trial in order to ensure fair compensation.

Marin County motorcycle accident lawyer

Common Causes of Motorcycle Accidents in Marin County

The most common causes of motorcycle accidents include:

Due to a lack of protection, the injuries caused in motorcycle accidents can be catastrophic. An accident may result in head injuries, road rash, muscle damage, bone fractures, nerve damage, spinal cord injuries, and in the most severe cases, a loss of life.

California Motorcycle Laws

California has the following motorcycle laws in place in order to keep riders safe:

  • Lane Splitting: a two-wheeled vehicle, traveling in the same direction, may share a lane with stopped or moving vehicles. (California Vehicle Code (CVC) 21658.1)
  • Helmets: All riders must wear a helmet at all times. (CVC 27803)
  • Headlights: All motorcycles manufactured after 1978 must have a headlight that turns on automatically and will only turn off only when the motor is turned off. (CVC 25650.5)
  • Handlebars: Handlebars cannot be higher than six inches above the driver’s shoulders when seated. (CVC 27801)
  • Safety Course: If under 21, motorcyclists must complete the California Highway Patrol’s Basic Rider Course. The safety course is optional for riders over the age of 21, who can just complete a skills test. (CVC 2930-2935)
  • Passengers: Passengers must have proper seating at the rear or an attached side car, as well as footrests. (CVC 27800)

How Long Do I Have to File a Motorcycle Accident Lawsuit in Marin County?

Marin County utilizes the state of California’s statute of limitations (California Code of Civil Procedure sections 312-366) for filing a personal injury claim after a motorcycle accident, which states that plaintiffs (victims) have two years to do so.

The countdown starts at the time of the accident, and if a claim is not filed within the two year period, then it is more than likely that the courts will not hear the case.
Speaking with a Marin County motorcycle accident attorney and filing your injury claim as soon as possible is the safest route to take when it comes to pursuing compensation.

How Much Does a Motorcycle Accident Attorney Cost?

Most personal injury attorneys work on a contingency fee basis, which means you will not have to pay any money out-of-pocket. A contingency fee basis is an agreement that a client will not have to pay an attorney anything unless they receive a settlement or successful verdict in their lawsuit. Once the award is received, the attorney will then take a percentage of the awarded amount as payment for their services.

Contact Walkup, Melodia, Kelly & Schoenberger

Our Marin County motorcycle accident attorneys care for their client’s wellbeing; we want you to be compensated for your suffering. Have your case evaluated free of charge, by calling (415) 981-7210 or contacting us today.